Silang, Cavite: Tarragon tea and the quest for organic goodness.

Organic farming. Organic food. They are becoming a trend these days. We are becoming more and more health conscious. Life is good and we want to live it long. Philippines is keeping up with the trend. In a 2015 report, Department of Agriculture said that Philippines rank as the 4th leading organic country in Asia. It is estimated that 101, 278 hectares of land is devoted for organic farming in the country.

Not trying to build myself up as a healthy person, well, I think, I’m a bit health conscious, I love fruits and vegetables.  Many say, fruits and vegetables taste boring but I feel it is the opposite. What comes closer to nature, taste fresher. Watermelon. Apples. Melon. Crunchy lettuce. Juicy tomatoes! Dreaming! I will make a confession here too. I have this weird habit these days. When I feel stressed out or simply things are getting hurled, I end up ending my day with either eating two apples (sometimes three, maybe, it can increase more depending on the level of cortisol) or preparing pickled radish, carrot and other pickle variations. I don’t know why, but they are comforting.

lettuce
Lettuce field. Lettuce in candy colors grace the land of Gourmet Farms. Here, a green lettuce stands out among the crowd.

One reason, I guess, why I started to be more conscious about health, is that I’m starting to feel adulthood (really? haha) and there are lots of things to do. There are lots of responsibilities too. Dreams are evolving.

When you feel good, you want to be healthy. Same, when you are healthy, you feel good. Goal in the next years to come is to be healthier. Shift more to greens and fruits. Start moving away from meat. Exercise more. Decompress often.

 First organic farm experience

While researching for places to visit near the place where I work in Cavite, I encounter this blog regarding organic farms. Apparently, one of the very first organic farms in the country can be found in Silang, Cavite. And when I saw this post, my eyes turn to glitters!

And so, a weekend came, and I visit the farm.

Gourmet Farms. This is the name of the farm. The name is interesting itself. Farm goods prepared in gourmet way! Electric! So, I rock the weekend. Yeah, I went alone. I want to be energized too from long weeks of work. Nature is a perfect refuge.

A rack of organic herbs welcomed me. Basil. Yes, I found my favorite herb. Then, mint, my second favorite one. And my mind is everywhere. They are for sale. I think of my auntie, while seeing the rack. She would love this at home.

Right next to the herb racks, is the cafe. Gourmet’s Cafe. Fresh produce everywhere. Smell of organic coffee. The menu is varied too. Veggie wraps. Breakfast meals. Fun pastries. Herbal teas. Organic fruits and veges are for sale too!

I have a food pair again. This time, veggie wraps and tarragon tea. Yes, tarragon tea. Again, I got interested with the name of the herb.

taraggon-tea
Tarra-goodness. Refreshing aroma of tarragon tea and mild flavor of vegetable wrap reinforces the beautiful view outside Gourmet’s Cafe.

The food pair came.

Tarragon tea. It came in sealed jar with a compressor like mechanism in its middle. Down the jar, the tarragon leaves are settled. I press them using the compressor mechanism. The water deepens its color. It has a distinct aroma too. So, I put it in a cup. Refreshing! Its taste reinforce the view outside. Wonderful way to end a busy week. It is almost like meditating.

Aside from its refreshing aroma, tarragon has a boost of health benefits too. It is an excellent source of magnesium, iron, zinc and calcium. It is also rich in Vitamin A, C and B-6.

The veggie wraps accompany the tea well. The sweetness of the mango. Thick wrap with soft-and-grainy-pita feel. Plus, the crunchy greens. Organic is the best!

After a quick snack, I wanted to go inside the farm for a tour. But unfortunately, I didn’t make it to the tour schedule. So, I came back in another week, this time, with a friend. I will stop from here though, and feature that adventure in another blog post.

organic-coffee
Coffee alert. Variety of organic coffee on display in Gourmet’s Cafe, including the exotic civet arabica coffee.

Hope, this short stint inspires you to explore organic food nearby. Fresh is the best! On my side, I will come back to Gourmet Farms in the near future and try another tea on the menu. Or maybe, organic civet coffee?

Gourmet Farms

52 Emilio Aguinaldo Hwy, Silang, Cavite